Roasted Pork Tenderloin

Being a college student, who lives at home and likes to cook, I often find myself cooking dinner for my family.  I went digging into the freezer to find something one morning, and came up with a couple pork tenderloins.  I really wanted to fire up the grill, but the nice break from typical January weather we were having ended the day before…

So I jumped on line looking for a good roasting temperature and time.  I came up with a couple different things, but settled on one.  I also decided to combine a couple recipes I found on foodnetwork.com.  Here’s what I did:

  • 2 pork tenderloins
  • ~2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp rosemary
  • salt and pepper

Preheat your oven to 500*F.20130110-Pork Tenderloin-0001.jpg

Take your tenderloins, and make a few cuts across them, I did mine on a diagonal, not quite half an inch deep.  Coat each tenderloin with balsamic vinegar.  I used some very good cherry balsamic vinegar from Texas Hill Country Olive Co.  My uncle lives in Austin, TX and shipped this to us, along with some other goodies.

Let that sit for about 5 minutes or so.  Next, drizzle the tenderloins with the olive oil, making sure to get a nice even coat.  thinly slice the garlic, and stuff the slices into the cuts you made earlier.  Now season with the salt, pepper, and herbs.

20130110-Pork Tenderloin-0002.jpgPlace on a pan with foil, as they will drip and it will stick to your pan if you don’t use foil.  Roast at 500*F for 18-20 minutes.  Check your temperature, you want it about 145*F.  Pull them out and let them rest a few minutes before cutting. They should be juicy and tender.

I served mine over a bed of sauteed spinach, red onions, and garlic.  A few thinly sliced scallions finished it off.

Leave a Reply

