New Year’s Eve and Seafood

For many, New Year’s Eve and seafood go hand in hand.  It’s no different for my family.  Our tradition has been to get a big pan full of king crab legs and eat nothing but that and butter.

This year was really no different except for the fact that over the last year I have really fallen in love with mussels.  We also had a couple more people than usual (my sister who doesn’t live here and my grandma). So I ran out to the store in search of mussels.
I came back with a few things:  two pounds of mussels, a couple shallots, flat leaf parsley, thyme, and a bottle of dry white wine.  A few cloves of garlic, some salt and pepper, and I was ready to go.

Sweated the shallots, then added in the finely chopped garlic cloves.  At this point, I poured in some white wine, brought it to a boil and added in the mussels.  I covered the pan and steamed the mussels for about 5 minutes.  I added in the chopped parsley and let steam another 2-3 minutes.New Year's MusselsI served them with another sprinkle of fresh parsley and a few lemon wedges.  And boy were they delicious.  I never realized how easy cooking them is, even if the prep is a little work.  I’ll definitely be experimenting with more mussel recipes.  If you’ve got any good ones, please share!

Leave a Reply

