Roasted Vegetables

It’s Christmas Eve, so I’d like to wish everyone a Merry Christmas.  The food for tonight and tomorrow is cooking away, but before I make any posts about it, I’d like to share one of my favorite side dishes.

In my last post, I featured a delicious turnip salad.  Well the turnips are showing up again, along with a medley of other root vegetables.  Roasting vegetables, especially root vegetables and various squash really brings out the flavor in them.  For these roasted vegetables, I usually throw together whatever we’ve got laying around.  It’s actually a good way to use up left over veggies from other recipes.

Here’s the ingredient list this time around:

Roasted Vegetables

Potato – I love the gold, purple, and red fingerling potatoes for this, but any will do.  Sweet potatoes work great as well, either as a substitute or in addition to regular potatoes.

Carrots and Parsnips – These two make it into just about every pan of roasted veggies I make.

Turnip – Yes, here it is again. This makes a great addition to the pan, and I usually add it in when in it’s season in the fall and early winter here.

Onion – I won’t roast vegetables without onions.  From the small pearl onions, to chunks or vidalia or red onion.  This time around I quartered some shallots and they turned out great, without such an onion taste.

Roasted VegetablesSome people like to add sugar or garlic to roasted vegetables, but I like to let their natural flavors shine.  I lightly coat them with olive oil and season with salt and fresh cracked black pepper.  Simple as that.

I roast mine on 400 degrees until they are soft and the edges have started to brown.  I will turn them over with a spatula a couple times throughout cooking so they don’t get stuck to the bottom of the pan.

You can roast just about anything you want.  Butternut squash goes great in this as well.  So have fun with this and experiment.  And be sure to let me know what works for you!

Leave a Reply

