Turnip Salad

This fall I’ve discovered how great turnips are. Fresh, steamed, mashed, or roasted; they’re all good. I discovered a simple recipe online and took it to the next level. Here’s what you’ll need for the basic recipe:

  • 1 Turnip
  • olive oil
  • lemon juice
  • salt
  • fresh cracked pepper

This recipe is far from exact, I just go by how much turnip I have. Peel your turnip, and cut it julienne. Toss in a bowl with a drizzle of olive oil and a splash of lemon juice. Salt and pepper to taste. Don’t overdo the olive oil and lemon juice and use enough of each to balance out the flavor. I just go by how it tastes.

To kick this delicious and healthy salad up a bit, I served it on a bed of purple savoy cabbage, lightly dressed the same way. I served it with a slice of lemon and a few slices of scallion. Under it, I made a puree of daikon radish and radicchio with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic.

20121221-turnip salad-0002.jpg

Leave a Reply

