Jom-Pong (Spicy Seafood Noodle Soup)

Today, I headed over to a fairly new Asian restaurant in Toledo.  It’s called QQ Kitchen, and I’ve heard some very good things about it already.  Now this is not the first time I’ve been there, but the first time since the creation of my blog.
I haven’t had a chance to eat in the small restaurant in strip mall yet, but I’ve had carry out a couple times.  Again, I was short on time and ordered the Jom-Pong to go.
The Jom-Pong is a spicy Korean seafood and noodle dish.  I was given a soup container, and to my surprise a regular carry out container.  Off I headed to my appointment and curiosity got the best of me; I had to see what was in the carry out.  The noodles! What a great idea.  In the broth, they’d soak it up and get mushy while turning the broth starchy.
Once I arrived home, I eagerly scooped up some noodles into a bowl and poured some of the vibrantly red broth over it.  Scooped out some onions and greens along with strips of squid, shrimp, and even some clams.  It looked and smelled great, and I couldn’t wait to dig into it.
The broth was delicious, the seafood even more so.   The noodles were done perfectly, just a little chewy.  The heat was there with the spicy broth, but it wasn’t overwhelming.  Just to clarify, I do like spicy foods to an extent.  I’m not a fan of stuff so spicy it numbs my mouth and I can’t taste anything.  This wasn’t like that at all; it had just the right amount of heat and was full of flavor.
This is definitely a dish I would (and will) order again, just as soon as I try all the other amazing sounding stuff off their menu.  If you ever find yourself around the Westgate area of Toledo, OH go and check out QQ Kitchen, a little restaurant with big flavor.
Leave a Reply

