Back at QQ Kitchen!

This seems to be the place I end up when I’m craving some Asian food.  This trip, I got to share the experience with my dad after we ran to a couple places close by.  At 7:30pm the tables were full, and one just emptied as we walked in.  We both looked over the menu, my dad having never been there, and I me not knowing what I wanted to try next.

I ordered the Pork Bulgogi, sliced pork pan fried and served with spicy Korean barbeque sauce.  It came with a side of white rice, and I ordered a side of Kim Chi.  My dad started with a bowl of hot and sour soup and then the Chow San Shen.  I’d also like to apologize now for the pictures.  I can’t take my DSLR with me all the time; these were the best I could get with my Razr, even with its better than average cellphone camera.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android AppLike I’ve said in my blog before, I’ve never been a big fan of the super sweet, heavy sauces that most Chinese restaurants sell.  So soup is usually one of my go to items.  This is hands down the best hot and sour soup I have ever had.  It was served piping hot with some fried wontons  Besides the fantastic flavor, it was full of ingredients, not loaded with tofu as a filler like too many others I’ve had.  It consisted of bamboo, woodear mushrooms, tofu, carrots, and even chicken.

The Chow San Shen is shrimp, scallops, chicken and vegetables in their house white sauce.  The seafood and chicken was cooked perfectly, the sauce was not heavy and sugary at all.  In fact, it was light and very good.

Finally, my Pork Bulgogi:  The pork, onions and scallions were covered in a thick dark red Korean barbeque sauce that hit me with a ton of flavor before the heat kicked in.  The heat is definitely there, although I don’t personally think it was overwhelming.  If you don’t care for spicy foods, stay away from this flavor packed dish.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android AppThe staff at QQ Kitchen is small, but friendly.  You can sit at the bar and watch your food be cooked or just be served at a table.  Our waitress was attentive without being annoying, which can sometimes be a problem in such small restaurants.

This is obviously not my first time at QQ Kitchen, and it surely won’t be my last.  There’s so many things on the menu that sound good, I don’t know how I’ll try them all.  But trust me, I eventually will!QQ Kitchen  on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

