San Marcos Taqueria – Best Mexican Food in Toledo?

A friend of mine told me it was the best Mexican food she’s ever had.  Doesn’t mean much to me; I’ve been told that about a lot of places only to be disappointed once I eat there.  I find the margaritas are usually the determining factor for many.  A few weeks later, she mentioned it in class and a couple other people overheard and said it was the best Mexican food they had had too.  My interest was piqued, and I did some research online.  The general consensus was that is may in fact be the best in Toledo.

So myself and three of my friends headed over there after our classes today.  We parked in the back, so we could walk through the small grocery store attached to the restaurant.  It used to be the other way around (a small restaurant in the back of a grocery store), but it has gained popularity and they’ve expanded the restaurant.

20121207-San Marcos Taqueria-0003.jpg The restaurant is quite vibrant with hand carved and painted chairs and booths.  It wasn’t very big, but it wasn’t crowded at all.

The menu is simple, and their specialty is of course the tacos.  You can a regular taco for $1.50 or a Taco Especial for $2.00 with all the fixings.  A cilantro sauce, sour cream, a white cheese, a slice of avocado on top, and more.   On the tacos, you can choose between chicken, pork, pork skin, steak, shredded beef, beef tongue, or beef intestine.  They had a number of other items on the menu including tamales, fajitas, and other Mexican dishes.

Upon the recommendation of my friend who suggested the restaurant in the first place, I ordered a Pacifico Clara beer.   She is more of a beer drinker than I, although I didn’t think it was too bad. It was served with a lime. I thought it basically tasted like beer, but it was quite smooth with hardly any aftertaste.  The clean flavor went well with the fresh ingredients of the tacos.

20121207-San Marcos Taqueria-0002.jpg

Chips and salsa were served prior to the meal.  The salsa was delicious, even though it was fairly mild.  The chips were good, but not amazing.  Definitely had better and much, much worse.

I had three tacos: a pork, a shredded beef (barbacoa), and because I love to try new and unique food, a beef tongue.  My tacos are shown to the right, with a couple slices on lime.  All were delicious, especially the beef tongue.  It tasted like a good beef roast, but even meatier. The texture was very soft, and a bit dry.  It wasn’t spongy like some internal organs, but wasn’t quite as fibrous as regular piece of beef.  Overall it was good and I will be getting it again.

Two of my friend had the special fajitas.  They came on a cast iron pan and were steaming hot.  Loaded with shrimp, chicken, beef, and vegetables, they looked and smelled great.  They were served with a plate full of sides like beans, rice, lettuce, and guacamole.  I got a taste of the fajita meat and it had a very good flavor.

20121207-San Marcos Taqueria-0001.jpg The friend of mine that suggested San Marcos got a chicken taco and a couple of tamales.  She isn’t a big fan of spicy food, and the tamales were on the upper limit for her.  I tried a bite and I’d say they were mild.

Anything could be spiced up by a couple of bottles of salsa on each table.  There was a mild-medium salsa verde that had excellent flavor and a bit of heat. It went well with the lighter, already a spicy pork taco. There was also a hot red salsa that went well with the boldness of the beef tongue taco.

The service was good.  Our waiter was attentive without being annoying.  We were there at an odd time, so it wasn’t real busy, but it was picking up when we left around the start of normal first dinner seating.

So is it the best Mexican food in Toledo? It might just be. It is definitely the best that I’ve had.  If you’re a fan of Mexican and haven’t been to the little taqueria in the back of a grocery store, I’d highly recommend you check it out!  It’s well worth the trip downtown.San Marcos Tacos on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

